The Beginning of 2L

This week David started classes as a 2L (second year law student) and we are preparing for another great semester!  He is taking three classes: Corporations, Bankruptcy, and Taxation.  Along with his classes he is working as an editor for the Harvard Law Review, serving as Vice President for Speakers for the Federalist Society (the conservative, moderate, and libertarian student organization on campus), and participating in a Moot court competition (more on that later!). So I think it’s safe to say he will be plenty busy with all of his commitments!

law

After spending the summer interning at a firm in DC, we came back to Cambridge and David began on-campus interviews. This is when firms from all over the country send a representative or two to campus, and each student can bid for which firms they’d like to interview with.  They are interviewing for a summer associate job for 2017, which will most likely turn into a job offer once they graduate. Apparently things move fast around here! Knowing that we wanted to be back home in California once David starts working, he interviewed with about 13 firms from L.A. and San Francisco.  He received several callbacks and made a couple quick trips to L.A. for second interviews.  After weeks of pros and cons lists, serious thinking and praying, and many conversations with friends and family, David accepted a position with Munger, Tolles, and Olson in downtown L.A. This means we get to spend next summer in California! Yay!

While all this was happening, David was also busy applying to judicial clerkships all across the country.  A clerkship is a full year following graduation of assisting a federal judge with research, writing bench memos, and other responsibilities. Back in July he interviewed with a judge in Des Moines, Iowa and later accepted a clerkship offer! This means we will be living in Des Moines from August 2018 to August 2019.  At first I was disappointed with this because it meant another year living out of state, but I am actually excited for a change of pace and a slower way of life living in the midwest.  Who knows, maybe we’ll decide to stay?! 😉

After playing tourist all summer in D.C., I am definitely happy to be back in Cambridge and returning to a normal routine.  I am still nannying the two boys I was with last year, but have also added a sweet 8 month old named Wilder.  I also have a few other families I babysit for on and off so I keep plenty busy.  I have met some pretty wonderful friends, and we hold a bible study every week where we are able to share some yummy desserts, fellowship, and study a chapter of the Bible and discuss.  I can’t express enough just how much these friendships have meant to me, they helped get me through a difficult year of moving away from my family and into a strange new city. Their friendships are a true blessing!

One of my best friends, Nikki, is getting married this October!  Which means we will be in Chowchilla for a long weekend and are very much looking forward to it. And thennn my other best friend Talia is getting married just one month later! So many good things happening at once! I couldn’t be more excited for my friends.

dscn0207
Back to the beginning! Nikki, Talia, and I

I think that’s all for now, thanks for reading my rambling!

Leave a Reply

