Holiday Happenings and End of Semester Blues

As I sit here typing, David is currently sitting across from me working away on some unknown project. We have reached the point in the semester where most of the school work has been finished, papers have been turned in, and finals are looming in the near future. Thanksgiving break arrived today, but I can’t say it’s been much of a break for my hard-working law student.

This semester has been one of the busiest so far. Yes I know this is only our third semester of law school, but given that everyone warned me about how awful 1L is, I’m feeling a bit betrayed by 2L. I was under the impression that 2L would be a breath of fresh air compared to our first year, but if I’m being honest, this semester has been the most difficult for me. This has however been an extremely busy semester for me also, so I’m thankful it has gone by as fast as it has.

I have traveled home to California twice to be a part of two of my best friend’s BEAUTIFUL weddings, celebrated one of the brides in Las Vegas, been a part of three bible studies (yes I know, way too much), hosted multiple friends and family who have visited, all while nannying four to five days a week. I think I definitely overcommitted myself this semester, and I’m hoping to slow things down in the spring. Our poor cat probably thinks she has been abandoned at this point since we are never home.

David keeps busy with his school work and all the commitments I listed in my previous post. He has excelled at all of them, and I’m so proud of how hard he’s worked this semester. His Moot court team, read about that here, moved on to the quarter-final round and is currently waiting to hear if they made it to the semi-final round.  At this point it drops from 18 teams to just four, so chances are slim but our hopes are high! (UPDATE: They heard back, and they MADE IT!) Semi-finals are in March, whoo-hoo!

Those are pretty much all the updates for this semester, happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

