California, here we comeee

Is it really possible that we have reached the end of our second year of law school? People told me it would go fast, but I never imagined THIS fast! If I’m being honest, the idea of having just one more year here in Cambridge makes me pretty sad. I have come to love this little city of ours, the friends we have made, and–even though it’s insanely busy at times–being a law school couple is so much fun! When David is slaving away at some law firm in a few years, I just know we’re going to look back on these years and wish we could come back. So I’m trying to soak it all in as much as possible.

Spring semester, just like the fall, has been busy, busy, busy. We traveled to Ireland for spring break, I was able to go home for a week in April, we’ve had friends and family visit, and David has been working nonstop through it all.

Right now I am working for three different families during the week and an occasional fourth on the weekends. I stopped watching Wilder in March and picked up a family who is visiting from England for about seven weeks. The timing was absolutely perfect and they leave to go home on May 5th, just two days before we leave for the summer. A total answer to prayer since I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to find a replacement for that short amount of time. Nannying has been such a wonderful job during these years. It’s flexible so I’m able to go home for Christmas and follow David wherever his summer internship takes him. I was in weddings last fall that I was able to be a part of without stressing about getting time off. And the families I’ve met are amazing and have turned out to be lovely friends. Only one of my families will carry over to next school year, so I’m hoping finding new ones won’t be too difficult. Fingers crossed!

For David this semester has brought about a bit of transitioning. He was elected President of the Federalist Society here at HLS, along with the Supreme Court co-chair of the law review. Although both positions are for next school year, he has transitioned to both within the past month or two and has been learning and working within his new roles. Both positions will keep him busy as a 3L so unfortunately the popular law school adage “1L they scare you to death, 2L they work you to death, and 3L they bore you to death” will be untrue for us. Which makes me sad, but proud!

Perhaps the most exciting thing to happen this semester was David and his Ames teammates participating in the semi-finals and WINNING! The teams are made up of six individuals with two oralists. David was one of the oralists and did an amazing job! His team has advanced to the finals which take place in November and David will argue in front of a Supreme Court justice which is totally insane and exciting! We actually went to Ireland less than two weeks before the competition, so the hours we spent in the car driving David practiced his part to me and I asked him questions to help him prepare. Sooo I have given myself the title of “seventh man” who helped contribute to his success šŸ˜‰ Ā  (totally kidding, kinda)

17498873_10212285793198504_2674208825603614711_n
The team after the big win!

The second most exciting/big piece of news is that David accepted a second clerkship for 2019-2020 in Washington DC! It is such a wonderful opportunity and we’re looking forward to the exciting vibe of DC for a year. This was a tough decision, especially for me, because it was another year away from home. When we moved here we were thinking we would only be away for three years, and now it’s five. I’m beginning to think we’ll never move back home! I have to keep telling myself that the Lord has blessed us with some amazing opportunities and to view it all as a big adventure.

Once David finishes his last final next Friday, we’re hopping on a plane (with Annie!) and headed back to California for 14 weeks. For 10 of those weeks David will be a summer associate at Munger, Tolles, and Olson. He is excited to learn, work, and get to know the firm better. I’m currently figuring out what to do with my time while he works. I’ve thought about volunteering somewhere, taking a doula class, jumping on the bandwagon and trying out Crossfit, or all three?! Any input is welcome šŸ™‚

If you’ve made it this far thanks for taking the time to catch up on our life! There are definitely negative aspects of social media but one I do love is being able to update loved ones and keep up with their lives as well.

Love to you all,
Meg

Leave a Reply

